Phoenix Sextet
Verklärte Romantik
Phoenix Sextet
Arnold Schönberg Center
Tuesday, 27 September 2022
6.30 pm
Phoenix Sextet

Phoenix Sextet
   Sarah Oates and Misako Akama violin
   Elaine Ng and Monika Mlynarczyk viola
   Aleksey Shadrin and Eduardo Tonietto violoncello

Johannes BRAHMS Streichsextett Nr. 1 B-Dur op. 18
Richard WAGNER Tristan und Isolde: Prelude (arrangement for string sextet by Walter Hus, WP)
Arnold SCHÖNBERG Verklärte Nacht op. 4

Tickets € 14 | Free admission for persons under 26 years
Online reservation

The Phoenix Sextet was formed by soloists from major European orchestras as a melting pot of perceptive artists who cultivate a lively exchange of ideas, comparable to a music lab. They compare two masterpieces of the genre, performing works by Johannes Brahms and Arnold Schönberg. Whereas the earlier composition is deeply rooted in classical forms, the enthusiastic program music in the later work breaks with the conventions of its era.